GTW: Vignettes- Ep. 5: A Detective’s Life

Episode 5: Magic

On Saturday morning, Hailey headed downstairs to make breakfast for Nyla, as she took the ingredients for pancakes from the refrigerator she thought about the advice from Alayna.

Her date was tonight and she was nervous again. She should just be calm and be herself, after all they had a great work relationship.

He was funny and friendly and always willing to help her on her cases.

But that brought up another issue that continued to nag at her.

Hailey poured some of the mix into the hot pan in perfect round pancake shapes.

Should I date a co-worker?

Would any feelings get in the way of our jobs?

And what if things didn’t work out? It would be awkward to see him at the station and would they be able to even work together?

Woah, woah Hailey. 

Slow down. It is just a date.

08-16-15_12-41 AM-3

She shook her head and continued to flip the pancakes, getting them to the perfect golden brown. Hailey turned slightly, smiling as Nyla entered the kitchen and took her place at the table.

“Morning Nyla, do you want some juice?”

08-16-15_12-25 AM-2

“No. Thanks Hailey. I will have milk. Breakfast smells delicious” she said, as she added a few pieces of bacon to her plate.

08-16-15_12-41 AM-4

She smiled at the younger girls’ politeness. She was a great kid. She just needed a chance. “Don’t forget that this is the first Saturday that you have community service. Rashad and I have that dinner tonight so I won’t be here to make dinner. I will have something prepared for you in the fridge. Oh, and don’t forget you have a curfew.”

Hailey put the last of the golden discs onto the plate and placed it next to the syrup and butter on the table and took her seat across from Nyla.

08-16-15_12-44 AM

“I won’t forget Hailey…”  Nyla frowned slightly, and then she lifted her head to capture Hailey’s gaze with her own.

“Look Hailey, I really am grateful for all you have done and I promise I am trying my best. I won’t mess up again. Just relax and enjoy your date. You don’t have to worry about me . I have been on my own for a while.” Nyla said in her usual serious and hushed tone as she took a few pancakes for her plate and then smothered them in syrup.

She knew that Hailey was just looking after her but she was not used to having to answer to someone and she was finding it challenging to live with this new authority.

08-16-15_12-45 AM-2

Hailey sighed softly and then smiled at Nyla, “I know you have been trying hard and I know you are used to taking care of yourself.  I won’t stop worrying though. It is my responsibility to look after you, just like it is your job to think I am smothering you.”

She knew it could seem like she was nagging , so she resolved to be more gentle in future interactions. She just wanted Nyla to understand the importance of this second chance.

The two finished their breakfast with small talk about school and Hailey’s work. After the dishes were cleared, Hailey began preparing dinner for Nyla to heat up for her dinner that evening. That done, she and Nyla spent some time by the pool and watching some documentaries on Simflix before it was time to get ready for her date and see Nyla off.

As she dropped Nyla off at her community service in Willow Creek Park , she asked the teen to call her when she arrived home and that dinner was in the refrigerator.


07-24-15_10-15 PM
Don’t they look adorable together. Their hair is so matchy

Later that day, after some pampering and freaking out over looking her best Hailey was finally ready.

Hailey met Rashad at his house so they could head to the resturant together.

He looks so handsome, she thought as her heart sped up its rhythm.

Hi handsome... Bonus:Giovanna Acevedo legs.
Hi handsome… Bonus:Giovanna Acevedo legs.
07-24-15_10-15 PM-2
He smelled so nice. Warm and spicy. And clean

As the two-headed to the restaurant they engaged in small talk about work, co-workers, the chief, and how Nyla was doing.

They sat down and chatted about their days while going over the menu.

08-16-15_1-45 AM-3

“So..”they both began at the same time and Hailey and Rashad laughed at their blunder. Rashad said “You go ahead.”

“Well, I know this is generic but tell me a little bit about yourself, I know you are a brilliant detective and that you clean up nice.” Hailey blushed as she complimented him.

08-16-15_1-45 AM-2

“Well, I will give you the short version. I have lived here in Willow Creek my whole life. My father was a police officer and my mother a judge. So I guess you could say it is in my blood. I got married to my high school sweetheart when we were fresh out of high school. After I graduated from the academy and started working long hours, we began to have problems.”

He took a sip of his water and continued “We divorced 4 years ago, she hated my job and couldn’t abide by the hours that kept me away. She didn’t understand the demands of the job.” He paused and waited for her reaction.

“That must have been rough. To love someone and you and they grow apart. We do work long hours and cases can take up our lives at times.” She smiled encouragingly at him.

She began to tell him about her life as a homeless youth and how one police officer saved her life.

08-16-15_1-45 AM

After dinner Rashad walked Hailey home.

08-18-15_4-14 AM08-18-15_4-15 AM

He joined her at the door he nervously asked, “Can I kiss you?”

08-18-15_4-15 AM-2

She smiled and leaned into him.

08-18-15_4-17 AM-2

It was magic.

08-18-15_4-17 AM-4

<—Previous Episode||Next Episode—>

7 comments

  1. I’m so happy Hailey’s date went well! They both look like such a stunning pair in their outfits! 🙂

    And I’m slightly worried about Nyla for some reason. I know it’s normal for teenagers to rebel, but I’m concerned that Hailey’s long hours and everything would give Nyla ample time to get back to her old habits should she wish to. I hope that won’t happen! Maybe I’m just worried for nothing.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment